NZIFF: Animation NOW! Opens The Festival

The New Zealand International Film Festival opens later today local time (Friday evening) with the Animation NOW! programme, beginning with Living Masters New Works. The nine short films shown derive from eight different countries, and offer diverse movies from veteran filmmakers. The School of Design at Victoria University of Wellington donated the $5,000 prize for the jury to award the best film. Here are the nine films in the opening line-up:

Satie’s “Parade” (2016) Koji Yamamura
Japan – 14 minutes

Casino (2016) Steven Woloshen
Canada – 4 minutes

The (2016) Phil Mulloy
UK – 2 minutes


The Eyeless Hunter. A Khanty Story (2016) Olga Pärn, Priit Pärn
Estonia – 4 minutes


Tank (2015) Raoul Servais
Belgium – 6 minutes


A Photo of Me (2017) Dennis Tupicoff
Australia – 11 minutes


Scratchy (2016) Marv Newland
Canada – 3 minutes


Primal Flux (2016) Joan C. Gratz
USA – 3 minutes


Before Love (2016) Igor Kovalyov
Russia – 19 minutes



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s