Festival de Cannes 70: Volver, 2006

A sunny shout-out to 70 winners at the Cannes Film Festival to celebrate the 70th event which is just around the corner – in no particular order.


No stranger to the Cannes Film Festival himself, this year’s jury president Pedro Almodóvar brought the magnetic Volver to the event, a consistently brilliant filmmaker, his latest venture was a chip off the old block while still appearing fresh and vibrant. Proving once again he knows how to tell stories about women better than most in the business. Almodóvar was awarded the Best Screenplay prize at the festival, deservedly so as he continues to surprize us. Also, the jury came to the conclusion that although there was no official ensemble prize, the Best Actress award would be in fact handed to the female cast of Volver – so Penélope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Yohana Cobo, Lola Dueñas, Chus Lampreave, and Blanca Portillo were all declared as winners. It was a fitting honor, there hasn’t been a collection of talented women performing at this level in a single motion picture for years.


Leave a Reply