Press "Enter" to skip to content

Alliance Of Women Film Journalists Nominations

The Alliance Of Women Film Journalists today revealed their 2018 film nominations for the EDA Awards. A group not just founded and built by women in the industry, but also coming from a personal, rich background in the field of journalism. And as always some really eye-catching categories in a season where everything starts to merge into one. The winners will be announced on 10th January 2019. So for now enjoy this mouth-watering set of nominations:

Best Film

The Favourite
Green Book
Leave No Trace

Best Director

Alfonso Cuaron – Roma
Debra Granik – Leave No Trace
Yorgos Lanthimos – The Favourite
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman
Adam McKay – Vice

Best Screenplay, Original

Eighth Grade – Bo Burnham
The Favourite – Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
First Reformed – Paul Schrader
Roma – Alfonso Cuaron
Vice – Adam McKay

Best Screenplay, Adapted

Black Panther – Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert
BlacKkKlansman – Charlie Wachtel, David Rabinowitz, Spike Lee
Can You Ever Forgive Me? – Nicole Holofcener, Jeff White
The Hate U Give – Audrey Wells
If Beale Street Could Talk – Barry Jenkins
Leave No Trace – Debra Granik, Anne Rossellini

Best Documentary

Free Solo – Elizabeth Chai Vasarheliyi, Jimmy Chin
Liyana – Amanda Knopp, Aaron Knopp
RBG – Julie Cohen, Betsy West
Shirkers – Sandi Tan
Three Identical Strangers – Tim Wardle
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? – Morgan Neville

Best Animated Film

Incredibles 2 – Brad Bird
Isle of Dogs – Wes Anderson
Mary and the Witch’s Flower – Hiromasa Yonebayashi, Giles New
Ralph Breaks the Internet – Phil Johnson, Rick Moore
Smallfoot – Karey Kirkpatrick, Jason Reisig
Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse – Bob Perischerri, Peter Ramsay, Rodney Rothman

Best Actress

Yalitza Aparacio – Roma
Glenn Close – The Wife
Olivia Colman – The Favourite
Viola Davis – Widows
Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born
Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Adams – Vice
Claire Foy – First Man
Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Emma Stone – The Favourite
Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Best Actor

Christian Bale – Vice
Willem Dafoe – At Eternity’s Gate
Ben Foster – Leave No Trace
Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody
Viggo Mortensen – Green Book

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Mahershala Ali – Green Book
Steve Carrell – Vice
Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
Hugh Grant – Paddington 2
Richard E Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Michael B Jordan – Black Panther

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

Black Panther – Sarah Finn, Casting Director
BlacKkKlansman – Kim Coleman, Casting Director
Crazy Rich Asians – Terry Taylor, Casting Director
The Favourite – Dixie Chassay, Casting Director
If Beale Street Could Talk – Cindy Tolan
Vice – Francine Maisler

Best Cinematography

Black Panther – Rachel Morrison
The Favourite – Robbie Ryan
First Man – Linus Sandgren
If Beale Street Could Talk – James Laxton
Roma – Alfonso Cuaron

Best Editing

Black Panther – Debbie Berman, Michael P Shawyer
The Favourite – Yorgos Mavropsaridis
Roma – Alfonso Cuaron, Adam Gough
Vice – Hank Corwin
Widows – Joe Walker

Best Non-English-Language Film

Burning – Lee Chang-dong, Korea
Capernaum – Nadine Labiki, Lebanon
Cold War – Pawel Pawlikowski, Poland
Roma – Alfonso Cuaron, Mexico
Shoplifters – Hirokazu Kore-eda Japan

These awards honor WOMEN only.

Best Woman Director

Elizabeth Chomko – What They Had
Debra Granik – Leave No Trace
Marielle Heller – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Karyn Kusama – Destroyer
Nadine Labiki – Capernaum
Rungano Nyoni – I Am Not a Witch
Sally Potter – The Party
Lynn Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Chloe Zhao – The Rider

Best Woman Screenwriter

Diablo Cody – Tully
Deborah Davis – The Favourite (with Tony McNamara)
Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini – Leave No Trace
Nicole Holofcener – Can You Ever Forgive Me? (with Jeff Whitty)
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give
Chloe Zhao – The Rider

Best Animated Female

Elastagirl, Incredibles 2, Holly Hunter
Gwen Stacy, Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse, Hailee Steinfeld
Meechee , Smallfoot, Zendaya
Tracy Walker, Isle of Dogs, Greta Gerwig
Vanellope, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Sarah Silverman

Best Breakthrough Performance

Yalitza Aparacio – Roma
Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade
KiKi Layne – If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Letitia Wright – Black Panther

Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry

82 women who stood on the Palais des Festivals steps at the Cannes Film Festival to protest gender inequality in festival programming.
Ava DuVernay for hiring women filmmakers for Queen Sugar and other projects.
Megan Ellison for challenging the status quo and producing projects by unique and diverse voices.
Nicole Kidman for a banner year of performances in Destroyer, Boy Erased and Aquaman, and for opening opportunity or women in production.
Rachel Morrison for paving the road for women cinematographers with her Oscar nomination for Mudbound and scoring as DP on Black Panther.
Shondra Rhimes, Reese Witherspoon and all the women speaking out in the #MeToo movement.


Actress Defying Age and Ageism

Glenn Close – The Wife
Viola Davis – Widows
Nicole Kidman – Destroyer
Sissy Spacek –The Old Man and the Gun
Tea With the Dames – Eileen Atkins, Judi Dench, Joan Plowright, Maggie Smith

Bravest Performance

Toni Collette – Hereditary
Olivia Colman – The Favorite
Viola Davis – Widows
Nicole Kidman – Destroyer
Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Charlize Theron – Tully
Mary Elizabeth Winstead – All About Nina

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent

Anna Faris – Overboard
Jennifer Garner – Peppermint
Dakota Johnson – Fifty Shades Freed
Jennifer Lawrence – Red Sparrow
Melissa McCarthy – Everything except Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Amy Schumer – I Feel Pretty

Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award

Mandy – Andrea Riseborough and Nicholas Cage
Mission Impossible Fallout  – Rebecca Ferguson and Tom Cruise
Overboard – Anna Faris and Eugenio Derbez
Red Sparrow – Jennifer Lawrence and Joel Edgerton
Siberia – Ana Ularu and Keanu Reeves

Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t Have Been Made

Fifty Shades Freed
The Predator
Robin Hood

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award

Abusers Weinstein, Moonves, CK, Rush, Franco, Singer, Rose, Lauer, et al
Fifty Shades Freed
The  Happytime Murders
Red Sparrow


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.
%d bloggers like this: