Press "Enter" to skip to content

The Rider Hits Top Spot with the National Society of Film Critics

The National Society of Film Critics announced their winners. With it, they disclose the tallies of the weighted voting on a ballot system. Instead of blowing your mind with the ins and outs of that process, take a look at these winners:

Best Picture

The Rider (44 points)
Roma (41 points)
Burning (27 points)

Best Director

Alfonso Cuarón, “Roma” (60 points)
Lee Chang-dong, “Burning” (22 points)
Chloé Zhao, “The Rider” (22 points)

Best Actress

Olivia Colman, The Favourite (36 points)
Regina Hall, Support the Girls (33 points)
Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (27 points)

Best Actor

Ethan Hawke, First Reformed (58 points)
Willem Dafoe, At Eternity’s Gate (30 points)
Ben Foster, Leave No Trace (25 points)
John C. Reilly, The Sisters Brothers and Stan & Ollie (25 points)

Best Supporting Actress

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk (47 points)
Elizabeth Debicki, Widows (37 points)
Emma Stone, The Favourite (24 points)

Best Supporting Actor

Steven Yeun, Burning (40 points)
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (35 points)
Brian Tyree Henry, If Beale Street Could Talk, Widows and Spider-Man: Into the Spider Verse (32 points)

Best Screenplay

Armando Iannucci, David Schneider and Ian Martin, The Death of Stalin (47 points)
Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (27 points)
Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, The Favourite (24 points)

Best Cinematography

Alfonso Cuarón, Roma (70 points)
James Laxton, If Beale Street Could Talk (26 points)
Lukasz Zal, Cold War (24 points)

Best Foreign Language Film

Roma (44 points)
Cold War (34 points)
Burning (30 points)
Shoplifters (30 points)

Best Non-Fiction Film 

Minding the Gap (35 points)
Shirkers (31 points)
Amazing Grace (24 points)


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.
%d bloggers like this: