Press "Enter" to skip to content

Femme Filmmakers Festival 2017: Roll Of Honor


To close this magnificent #FemmeFilmFest I have assembled a small jury of film-lovers to honor a select few of these outstanding new short films. There are 5 of us in the jury, who will contest on the official selection and come to a (very difficult) decision as the top merit in each of the 10 categories. There’s no big ceremony in a swish theater (I don’t think), and no physical, gold plaque – just the immense admiration and gratitude of genuine loves of film.

Obviously not all films features at the Femme Filmmakers Festival are new releases, only those shorts from the last year (2016/17) are chosen for selection here – there 8 of them. I personally want to give a huge, huge shout out to those other short films, some true gems I will not forget, and will continue to scream about. Oscar winner Torill Kove, the unique talents of Mary Neely, Jennifer Reeder, Meghann Artes, Lisa Hammer, Billimarie Robinson, and showcasing today the brilliant Katina Mercadant and Chelsea Christer. And so many I haven’t mentioned. They all deserve a prize.

Here are the 8 short films in competition for the Femme Filmmakers Festival 2017:

Hala (2016) – Minhal Baig – 14 mins

Fangirl (2016) – Liza Mandelup – 5 mins

3-Way (Not Calling) (2016) – Molly McGlynn – 11 mins

Tinder Will Understand (2016) – Sofija Sztepanov – 5 mins

I Just Said That (2017) – Stefanie Davis – 3 mins

After Sophie (2017) – Minhal Baig – 9 mins

Hot Seat (2017) – Anna Kerrigan – 13 mins

Strange Beasts (2017) – Magali Barbe – 6 mins

Total running time: 66 mins

Here are the 10 categories (fiction, animation, non-fiction):

Outstanding Mixed Media & Visual Design
Outstanding Short Film Editing
Outstanding Cinematography
Outstanding Short Film Writing
Outstanding Original Music
Outstanding Short Film Directing
Outstanding Male Performance
Outstanding Female Performance
The Maya Deren Innovation For Short Films Prize
Outstanding Short Film Grand Prize

And finally, the jury is:

Robin Write#FemmeFilmFest Founder and Film Writer

Justine Peres SmithFreelance Film and Culture Writer

Hayley Moss – Film and TV Composer

Bailey HoldenBailey HoldenFilmmaker and Writer

Bee GarnerFeminist and Film Nut

Please comment below with your choices, we would be delighted to hear your thoughts. Results announced 10pm London time.





One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.
%d bloggers like this: